UK Homelifts guide / September 2026
By UK Homelifts Editorial Team. Last reviewed 26 September 2026.
The short answer. Our check of each maker’s website on 26 September 2026 found published warranties from 12 months to five years. Aritco and SWIFT, both screw-drive shaft lifts, publish five years with ten on the screw and nut. Stannah publishes two years with a yearly service. Stiltz, Lifton, Terry and Companion publish 12 months parts and labour, and Cibes one year on new parts. Wessex publishes no standard length. Aritco, SWIFT and Cibes make cover conditional on servicing through their own network. Your Consumer Rights Act protection runs alongside any warranty, for up to six years (five in Scotland).
Our check: nine brands, one date
We read each manufacturer’s own UK website on 26 September 2026 and copied the warranty terms as written.
| Brand (lift type) | Standard warranty, as published | Services included | Extended cover | Conditions stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aritco (screw-drive shaft) | 5 years; 10 years on the “screw and nut assembly” | Not stated | Not published | Installation and service by an Aritco partner, original Aritco parts, maintenance to the manual’s schedule |
| SWIFT (screw-drive shaft) | “SWIFT UK 5 Years Lift Warranty”; 10 years on the screw and nut; battery replaced if capacity falls below 70% during the warranty | First year of service included (SWIFT blog) | Not published | Serviced and maintained by SWIFT or its appointed UK experts |
| Stannah (through-floor) | “2-year warranty” | “one free yearly service” in the first two years | Service options offered after expiry; terms not published | Not stated |
| Stiltz (through-floor) | “12 months parts and labour warranty” | Not stated | “option to purchase additional warranty” | Annual service recommended |
| Lifton (through-floor) | “12 months parts and labour warranty” (FAQ); another Lifton page says “two-year warranty” | Not stated | Can be bought “during or after the initial 12 month period” | Not stated |
| Terry (hydraulic through-floor) | “12 months parts and labour warranty, as standard” | Not stated | “options for extended warranty”; terms not published | Not stated |
| Companion (through-floor) | “12-month warranty for all parts and labour” | “one service” | Service contracts after year one | Annual service recommended |
| Cibes (screw-drive shaft) | “1 year warranty on newly delivered and installed parts” | Through a paid service contract | Service contracts £350, £650 or £1,250 a year | “No maintenance, no manufacturer warranty” |
| Wessex (hydraulic through-floor) | Not published on its website (checked 26 Sep 2026) | Not stated | “Extended 3 Year Warranty” and “Extended 5 Year Warranty”, including “scheduled services, call out charges and parts” | Not stated |
Sources for every row are listed below. Stannah’s main website would not load its content without JavaScript, so its row comes from Stannah’s own blog, which carries a 2026 Stannah Lift Services copyright line.
What the check found
- Two brands publish five years, and both are screw-drive shaft lifts. Aritco and SWIFT each publish five years on the lift and ten on the screw and nut drive.
- Stannah is the only through-floor brand consistently publishing more than 12 months. Its two years include a free service in each year.
- Four brands publish exactly 12 months parts and labour: Stiltz, Lifton, Terry and Companion.
- Wessex publishes no standard warranty length on its current website, though it sells three-year and five-year extensions.
- Three brands tie cover to their own servicing network: Aritco, SWIFT and Cibes. The other six do not publish a servicing condition, which is not the same as having none.
- Lifton contradicts itself. Its FAQ says 12 months; its “A-Z of Lifton Home Lifts” guide says “All lifts are supplied with a two-year warranty.” Get the figure in writing.
UK Homelifts does not sell, supply or install lifts, and none of these brands pays us. Our 12-model comparison adds price, footprint and load.
Read the conditions before the length
A five-year warranty that needs an annual visit from the maker’s approved engineers is a five-year service commitment. Aritco’s terms say “Installation and service need to be carried out by an Aritco partner and any replaced parts or consumables must be original Aritco spare parts.” SWIFT’s say the warranty “requires the lift to be serviced and maintained by SWIFT or any of our appointed local experts in the UK”. Cibes is shortest: “No maintenance, no manufacturer warranty.”
Illustration, using published single-visit service prices of £195 to about £350 a year: keeping a five-year warranty alive with four paid services after a free first year costs roughly £780 to £1,400 in servicing, and more on a contract with call-out cover. See what a home lift service costs. Cibes publishes its own prices, from £350 to £1,250 a year depending on use. Ask how late a service can be before cover lapses.
Warranty, extended warranty and service contract
| Manufacturer warranty | Extended warranty | Service contract | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who gives it | Maker or its installer | Maker, installer or a third party | Maker, installer or independent engineer |
| What it pays for | Repairing defects in materials or workmanship | Usually the same, for longer | Planned visits; higher tiers add call-outs and parts |
| What it does not cover | Wear, misuse, work by unapproved engineers (check the terms) | As the terms say | Parts, on lower tiers |
The lines blur: Wessex’s extended warranties include scheduled services, call-outs and parts, much like a top-tier service contract.
Your legal rights run alongside the warranty
A warranty does not replace your statutory rights. Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, as Which? summarises it, goods must be “satisfactory quality”, “fit for purpose” and “as described”, and a service must be carried out with “reasonable care and skill”. Citizens Advice puts the service test plainly: the trader “should have done a good job that’s worth the amount they’re charging you”.
A fitted lift is both goods and a service. Your claim is against the business you contracted with, usually the installer or dealer. Which? sets out the timings:
| Right | What it means for a lift |
|---|---|
| 30-day right to reject | A full refund for goods that do not conform, within 30 days. Hard to use once a floor has been cut |
| First six months | The trader must prove a fault was not there at delivery |
| After 30 days | The trader gets one attempt at repair or replacement before you can seek a refund |
| Time limit to claim | Up to six years to take a claim to the small claims court in England, Wales and Northern Ireland; five years in Scotland |
So a drive failing in year three of a 12-month warranty is not automatically your problem: satisfactory quality includes durability.
If the installer or dealer stops trading
A maker’s warranty can survive a dealer’s collapse; a dealer’s own warranty may not. Citizens Advice says that when a business stops trading you can still “use the guarantee or warranty which came with the item or contract to get repairs or a replacement”, or register as a creditor, with “no guarantee you’ll get what you paid for”.
- Pay part by credit card. Citizens Advice says Section 75 applies “If you paid any part of the cost by credit card” where the total is “more than £100 and no more than £30,000”. Most through-floor lifts fall inside that cap; larger shaft lifts can exceed it.
- Check trade scheme protection. TrustMark says “Registered Businesses are expected to provide a minimum two-year guarantee” and lists insurance against the tradesperson ceasing to trade among its protections. Terry Lifts advertises “the Trustmark guarantee”.
- Protect the deposit. Ask whether your deposit is insured, and keep it small.
Reconditioned lifts
When we reviewed 12 UK listings for our reconditioned lifts guide, ten offered no warranty, one stated a warranty without terms, and one private seller offered to pass on the original paperwork. Do not assume a manufacturer’s warranty passes to a second owner unless the maker confirms it in writing. A trade refurbisher that re-installs and commissions the lift is the only route we found that includes any cover.
Questions to ask before you sign
- Who issues the warranty: the manufacturer, the installer or both?
- How long is it, and does it cover parts, labour and call-outs?
- How many services are included, and what does each cost afterwards?
- Who is allowed to service the lift without voiding cover?
- What is excluded? Ask about batteries, doors and remote controls.
- Does it transfer if you sell, and what happens if the dealer stops trading?
Frequently asked questions
Which home lift has the longest warranty in the UK?
Of the nine brands we checked on 26 September 2026, Aritco and SWIFT publish the longest: five years on the lift and ten years on the screw and nut drive. Both make screw-drive shaft lifts, not through-floor lifts. Among through-floor brands, Stannah publishes the longest at two years with a free service each year. Stiltz, Lifton, Terry and Companion publish 12 months parts and labour.
Does missing a service void a home lift warranty?
It can. Aritco, SWIFT and Cibes all state that servicing through their own network is a condition of the warranty, and Cibes says “No maintenance, no manufacturer warranty.” The other six brands we checked do not publish a servicing condition, but their full terms may contain one. Ask for the written warranty terms before you sign and diary the service dates from the day of handover.
What are my rights after the warranty runs out?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 still applies. Goods must be of satisfactory quality, which includes durability, and installation must be done with reasonable care and skill. According to Which?, you have up to six years to take a claim to the small claims court in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and five years in Scotland. The claim is against the business you bought from, usually the installer or dealer.
Do reconditioned home lifts come with a warranty?
Rarely, in our research. Of 12 UK reconditioned or used lift listings we reviewed, ten offered no warranty and one mentioned a warranty without giving terms. A trade refurbisher that removes, refurbishes, re-installs and commissions the lift is the most likely to include cover. Get the length and terms in writing, and ask who carries out the servicing.
Who honours the warranty if the installer goes bust?
That depends on who issued it. A manufacturer’s warranty may still be honoured through another approved installer, while a dealer’s own warranty may lapse with the business. Paying at least part by credit card can give Section 75 protection on purchases between £100 and £30,000, and TrustMark lists insurance against a registered trader ceasing to trade among its protections.
Next steps
- Get free quotes from installers covering your postcode, and ask each for the written warranty terms. We take no commission.
- Budget the lift and its servicing with the home lift cost calculator.
- Check whether a Disabled Facilities Grant could pay for it with our grants checker.
Related guides
Sources
- Aritco: Five years warranty on home and commercial lifts (checked 26 September 2026)
- Aritco UK: FAQ (checked 26 September 2026)
- SWIFT: Warranty and maintenance (checked 26 September 2026)
- SWIFT: Homelift warranty, is it included in the price? (checked 26 September 2026)
- SWIFT: Home lift maintenance costs in the UK 2026 (checked 26 September 2026)
- Stannah: The key benefits of installing a homelift (checked 26 September 2026)
- Stiltz: FAQs (checked 26 September 2026)
- Stiltz: Duo home lift (checked 26 September 2026)
- Lifton: Frequently asked questions (checked 26 September 2026)
- Lifton: The A-Z of Lifton Home Lifts (checked 26 September 2026)
- Terry Lifts: Harmony home lift (checked 26 September 2026)
- Companion Homelifts: FAQs (checked 26 September 2026)
- Cibes: Service and maintenance (checked 26 September 2026)
- Wessex Lifts: Lift maintenance (checked 26 September 2026)
- Which?: Consumer Rights Act 2015 (checked 26 September 2026)
- Citizens Advice: Problem with building work or home improvements (checked 26 September 2026)
- Citizens Advice: If a company stops trading (checked 26 September 2026)
- Citizens Advice: Getting your money back if you paid by card (checked 26 September 2026)
- TrustMark: Consumer protection (checked 26 September 2026)
UK Homelifts is an independent information site. We do not sell, supply, install or service lifts and are not affiliated with any manufacturer. This page is general information, not legal or financial advice. Warranty terms change, so get the full written terms from your supplier and check your own circumstances with Citizens Advice or a solicitor.
Get a Free Home Lift Quote
Tell us what you need and we will match you with UK home lift installers. Free, no obligation.