Head to head · every published price re-read at source · 9 October 2026
Stiltz prints a starting price on its own website. Terry Lifts prints none for any model, and its own answer to “How much does a home lift cost?” still contains no figure on 9 October 2026. The lifts differ more than the prices do: Terry builds hydraulic lifts, and its two-person Lifestyle is rated for 250 kg, the Stiltz Duo+ for 170 kg.
Excluding VAT, on its own site.
None for any model. Third-party bands only.
The short answer
- Only Stiltz publishes a price: from £17,000 excluding VAT, with Stiltz dealers printing figures from £13,000. Terry publishes nothing. The trades directory MyBuilder puts Terry at £10,000 to £30,000 and Stiltz at £15,000 to £35,000.
- Terry lifts carry more. Two-person models: Terry Lifestyle 250 kg, Stiltz Duo+ 170 kg. Wheelchair models: Terry Harmony FE 325 kg, Stiltz Trio+ 250 kg.
- Stiltz lifts are faster and plug in. Stiltz publishes 0.15 m/s and a 13 A socket; the Terry Harmony is 0.06 m/s and Terry says its through-floor lifts should be permanently connected to a dedicated supply.
- Same warranty: 12 months parts and labour from both.
- Breakdown cover differs. Stiltz says its engineers are on call 24/7. Terry’s emergency line runs 17:00 to 22:00 on weekdays and 08:00 to 22:00 at weekends.
Stiltz vs Terry Lifts prices: every published figure, side by side
How this compares: see installed 2026 price bands for all nine UK brands side by side in our home lift price guide, or estimate your own installed cost.
Each figure below is quoted as its publisher wrote it, with its VAT basis where one is given, and was re-read at source on 9 October 2026. The last price row is different: it is our own installed band from each brand review, not a published price. Every lift is priced after a home survey, so use the table to test a quote, not to replace one.
| Stiltz | Terry Lifts | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker’s own price | “From £17,000 (ex. VAT)”, covering manufacture, delivery, installation and a 12-month warranty. Source ↗ | Not published Terry’s FAQ answer to “How much does a home lift cost?” (posted 25 May 2021) gives no figure and offers “a free, no obligation survey”. Source ↗ |
| VAT basis | Excluding VAT, printed beside the price. | Not applicable: no price published. |
| Lowest dealer price we found | 1st Choice Home Lifts: “From £13,000” for compact lifts “like the stiltz lifts Duo model range”. My Mobility UK: Duo+ £14,000, “Prices include VAT”. Source ↗ Source ↗ | None found. The Disabled Living Foundation’s database lists the Harmony as “Priced from POA”. Source ↗ |
| Trades directory band | MyBuilder: £15,000 to £35,000 (VAT not stated). Source ↗ | MyBuilder: £10,000 to £30,000 (VAT not stated). Source ↗ |
| Our installed band | £13,000 to £25,000. Our estimate, from our Stiltz review. | £14,000 to £22,000, Harmony FE at the top. Our estimate, from our Terry review. |
| Second-hand asking prices | Refurbished by a trade seller: £9,500 to £10,950. Private sellers, lift only: £1,500 to £5,000. Listings read August 2026. | Terry Harmony: £3,000 to £3,500. Listings read August 2026. |
| Finance terms published | Yes: four worked examples, 5.9% to 14.9% APR. Monthly costs. | None. |
Prices re-read at source 9 October 2026. Second-hand figures are from listings read in August 2026. Where a maker publishes nothing we say so rather than estimate. Every figure we hold, with its source and exact wording, is in our home lift price tracker.
Stiltz vs Terry Lifts: the specifications
From each maker’s own UK pages. Gaps are left as “not published” on purpose.
| Stiltz | Terry Lifts | |
|---|---|---|
| Models | Duo+ (two people), Trio+ (three people or a wheelchair) | Lifestyle and Affinity (two people), Harmony and Harmony FE (wheelchair) |
| Drive | Roped drum, motor in the car roof, self-supporting dual rails | Hydraulic on every model |
| Two-person model load | Duo+: 170 kg | Lifestyle: 250 kg; Affinity: 250 kg |
| Wheelchair model load | Trio+: 250 kg | Harmony: 250 to 280 kg; Harmony FE: 325 kg |
| Speed | 0.15 m/s; “under 30 seconds” between floors | Harmony and Harmony FE: 0.06 m/s |
| Floors and travel | Two floors. Duo+ up to 4.5 m; Trio+ up to 6 m | Two floors, up to 3.6 m |
| Power | Standard 13 A household socket | “Should be permanently connected to a dedicated power supply”; Affinity a 13 A fused spur |
| Fitting time | One day once a builder has prepared the aperture | Harmony: “Installation: Two days” |
| Order to fitted | Six to eight weeks | Not published |
| Warranty | 12 months parts and labour; more can be bought | “12 months parts and labour warranty, as standard”; extended warranty offered |
| Breakdown line | Engineers “on call 24/7” | Emergency cover 17:00 to 22:00 weekdays, 08:00 to 22:00 weekends; none overnight stated |
Sources. Stiltz: Source ↗ Source ↗ Source ↗ Terry: Source ↗ Source ↗ Source ↗ Source ↗ Source ↗
What actually differs
One price you can hold them to, and one you cannot
Stiltz prints “from £17,000 (ex. VAT)” and a finance table built on an £18,950 Duo Classic. Terry prints no figure for any of its four home lifts. Its FAQ entry titled “How much does a home lift cost?” dates from May 2021 and says only that the price depends on where you live, the specification and the building work. So a Terry quote has no list price to be measured against. Ask every Terry quote to show the lift, the building work and the VAT on separate lines.
Load: Terry carries more
Every Terry home lift is rated for at least 250 kg, including the two-person Lifestyle and Affinity. Stiltz’s two-person Duo+ is rated for 170 kg. For a wheelchair user with a carer, the Terry Harmony FE’s 325 kg is the highest figure among the through-floor lifts in our specification research; the Stiltz Trio+ is rated for 250 kg.
Speed and power: Stiltz plugs in
On the published speeds, a Stiltz at 0.15 m/s covers a typical 3 m floor-to-floor rise in about 20 seconds; a Terry Harmony at 0.06 m/s takes about 50. That is our arithmetic from the makers’ figures, not a timed test. Stiltz runs from a household 13 A socket. Terry says its through-floor lifts should be permanently connected to a dedicated supply, so budget for an electrician.
When it breaks down
Stiltz says its engineers are on call 24/7. Terry publishes its hours: an office line from 08:30 to 17:00 on weekdays, emergency cover from 17:00 to 22:00 on weekdays and 08:00 to 22:00 at weekends, and nothing overnight. Neither publishes a response time or a call-out price. Our breakdown guide covers what to do if a lift stops.
Stiltz or Terry Lifts: which should you choose?
- You want to know the price before the survey: Stiltz, the only one of the two that prints one.
- Weight capacity matters, for a heavier user or a wheelchair plus a carer: Terry, especially the Harmony FE at 325 kg.
- You want no electrical work: Stiltz, on a 13 A socket.
- More than 3.6 m between floors: Stiltz. Terry stops at 3.6 m.
- A tight budget and open to second-hand: used Terry Harmony lifts were listed at £3,000 to £3,500 in August 2026. See reconditioned home lifts.
Get quotes for both and compare them line by line
Tell us about your home and the lift you need, and we’ll pass your details to installers who cover your area. Ask each one to show the lift, the building work and the VAT on separate lines, so the two quotes can be compared. It’s free, with no obligation.
Stiltz vs Terry Lifts: questions buyers ask
Is Stiltz or Terry cheaper?
Only Stiltz publishes a price: from £17,000 excluding VAT, with Stiltz dealers printing figures from £13,000. Terry Lifts publishes no price for any model. The trades directory MyBuilder gives Terry a band of £10,000 to £30,000 and Stiltz £15,000 to £35,000, neither with a VAT basis. Compare written quotes from both.
Does Terry Lifts publish its prices?
No. Terry’s own FAQ answer to “How much does a home lift cost?” gives no figure and offers a free survey instead, and the Disabled Living Foundation lists the Harmony as “Priced from POA”. We re-read both on 9 October 2026.
Which carries more weight, Stiltz or Terry?
Terry. Its two-person Lifestyle is rated for 250 kg against 170 kg for the Stiltz Duo+, and its Harmony FE wheelchair lift for 325 kg against 250 kg for the Stiltz Trio+.
Do Stiltz and Terry lifts plug into a normal socket?
Stiltz lifts run from a standard 13 A household socket. Terry says its through-floor lifts should be permanently connected to a dedicated power supply, and its Affinity runs from a 13 A fused spur.
What warranty do Stiltz and Terry give?
Both give 12 months parts and labour as standard, and both sell extended warranties.
Which is faster, Stiltz or Terry?
Stiltz publishes a speed of 0.15 m/s and says its lifts travel between floors in under 30 seconds. The Terry Harmony and Harmony FE are rated at 0.06 m/s, so the same 3 m rise takes about 50 seconds instead of about 20.
How we compared them. Every maker, dealer and directory price on this page was re-read at its source on 9 October 2026 and is quoted as written. Specifications come from each maker’s own UK pages, read for our specification research between August and October 2026; fitting times were read on 7 October 2026 and breakdown cover on 4 October 2026. Our installed bands are our own estimates from the brand reviews, not published prices, and are labelled as such.
We do not score brands. For owner reviews, the Stiltz and Terry Lifts reviews link to the independent review profiles we could verify.
More head-to-heads: Stiltz vs Stannah · Aritco vs Cibes · Lifton vs Wessex · Stiltz vs Lifton
Full reviews: Stiltz · Terry Lifts · all nine UK brands
The data behind it: home lift price tracker · specification comparison table · installation times · VAT relief
Prices checked 9 October 2026. We re-check this page with the monthly price tracker.
Comparing brands? Get matched with UK home lift installers and compare real quotes side by side.
Get a free quoteFree and no obligation. Takes about a minute.