Get Free Quotes
Get Free Quotes

Discussion – 

0

Which Type of Home Lift? Traction, Hydraulic, Screw and Vacuum Compared

Updated on September 29, 2026

Lift interior

Last reviewed and updated: 29 September 2026

Home lift types compared · 29 lifts · prices checked 29 September 2026

We sorted the 29 home lifts sold in the UK by how they move. The type that Checkatrade and Home Lift UK price highest is the one with the cheapest lifts on sale. Checkatrade puts a traction home lift at £28,000 to £33,000. The ten rope and drum lifts we checked have published prices from £13,000 to £19,995.

The short answer

  • Two floors, a normal ceiling, a plug-in lift: a rope or drum (traction) through-floor lift. Ten models, published prices from £13,000 ex VAT to £19,995.
  • Two floors and a heavier user: a hydraulic through-floor lift from Terry or Wessex. They carry 250 to 325 kg but most climb at 0.06 m/s and all need a dedicated electrical supply. Neither maker publishes a price.
  • Three floors or more: a screw-driven shaft lift (Aritco, Cibes, SWIFT; 2 to 6 floors, from £18,000) or a vacuum lift (PVE; 2 to 5 stops, from £29,500). None of the 16 through-floor lifts serves more than two floors.
  • Low upstairs ceiling: rule out vacuum first. It needs 2,700 mm upstairs, or 2,470 mm with a split head unit.

The four home lift types side by side

Every UK home lift is moved by one of four drives. The table groups the 29 lifts in our data by the drive each maker names, then gives the range of published figures for that group. Where a cell names one lift, it is the only one in the group that publishes the figure.

Home lift types compared: rope or drum, hydraulic, screw and nut, and vacuum
 Rope or drum
(traction)
HydraulicScrew and nut
(shaft or platform)
Vacuum
(pneumatic)
Lifts in our data10: Stiltz Duo+ and Trio+, Lifton DUO and TRIO, Stannah Uplifts S2 and S3, Savaria Luma, Companion Cygnus, Aurora and Stratus6: Terry Harmony, Harmony FE, Lifestyle and Affinity, Wessex VM and VE10: Aritco HomeLift, Compact and Access, Cibes A4000, Air, A5000, Cloud Plus and C1 Pure, SWIFT Pro and Lite3: PVE30, PVE37 and PVE52
How it movesA motor winds a rope or drum in the car, which runs on its own rails. Stiltz calls it a “roped drum, braked gear motor drive”A hydraulic power unit drives the car up its rails. On the Terry Affinity the power unit sits away from the carA motor turns a nut up a long threaded screw inside the lift’s own shaftA pump changes the air pressure above the cabin inside a sealed clear tube
Where it goesThrough a hole cut in the ceiling, on its own rails. No shaftThrough a hole cut in the ceiling. No shaft. Wessex fire-seals the openingInside an enclosure supplied with the lift, which stands on every floor it servesThrough a round hole in the floor. The tube stays on every floor it serves
Floors served22 (Wessex VM: optional mid-floor stop)2 to 62 to 5
Longest travel published4.2 m (Luma) to 6 m (Stiltz Trio+), where published3.0 to 3.6 m13 to 20 m15 m
Load170 to 255 kg250 to 325 kg250 to 630 kg159 to 238 kg
Speed, and time to climb 3 m0.07 m/s (Luma) to 0.15 m/s (Stiltz): 43 to 20 seconds0.06 m/s on 5 of 6: about 50 seconds0.15 m/s on all 10: 20 seconds0.18 to 0.20 m/s on PVE’s own pages: 15 to 17 seconds
Upstairs ceiling height needed (where published)2,370 mm (Stiltz, all models; a cab 150 mm shorter is offered), 2,400 mm (Luma)2,230 mm (Terry Affinity). The other five publish none2,225 mm (Aritco HomeLift) to 2,550 mm (Cibes C1 Pure), on the top floor2,700 mm, or 2,470 mm with the split head unit
PitNoneNone37 to 100 mm recess, or a rampNone
Power13 A socket on 6 of 10 (Stiltz, Lifton, Uplifts). The Luma runs from a batteryA dedicated supply on all 6. The Wessex VM is hard-wired with a 20 A switchFrom 6 A single phase (SWIFT) to three phase (Cibes C1 Pure)A 30 to 40 A, 220 V circuit on PVE’s pages. Its UK dealer says 230 V single phase
Takes a wheelchair6 of 104 of 62 of 10 say yes; Cibes Air depends on the size you order1 of 3 (PVE52), and PVE says not every wheelchair fits
Noise figure publishedStannah S2 “below 60 dB”; Lifton 50 to 58 dB on a German datasheet onlyWessex VM: 70 dB, given as a maximumCibes Cloud Plus: 40 dB. None of the other 9None
Lowest published price£13,000 ex VAT (dealer, Stiltz Duo) to £19,995 (Uplifts S3). Stiltz £17,000 ex VAT, Lifton £18,000 plus VATNo maker publishes one. One dealer gives £13,000 ex VAT for the Wessex VM and Stiltz Duo together£18,000 (Cibes A4000) to £27,000 (Cibes C1 Pure). Aritco about £22,000£29,500 (Morgan Ellis, the UK dealer; VAT not stated)
What cost guides say for this type“Traction”: £28,000 to £33,000 (Checkatrade), £28,000 to £40,000+ (Home Lift UK)“Hydraulic”: £23,000 to £28,000 (Checkatrade), £30,000 to £45,000 (Morgan Ellis)“Shaft-based”: £25,000 to £50,000 (Morgan Ellis)“Vacuum”: from about £28,000 (Checkatrade), £30,000 to £60,000 (Morgan Ellis)
SuitsTwo floors, a standard ceiling, and a lift that plugs into a normal socketTwo floors and a heavier load, where a slow ride is acceptable and an electrician can run a dedicated supplyThree floors or more, including a basement, and wheelchair users who need a larger platformTwo to five floors in a room with a high ceiling, where a see-through lift is wanted

Specifications from each maker’s own UK website, brochures and planning guides; prices from maker and dealer websites. Trip time is 3 m divided by the published speed. “Not published” means we could not find the figure; the lift may still have one. Sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Through-floor describes where a lift goes. The drive is a separate choice

Home Lift UK’s cost guide lists through-floor, hydraulic, vacuum and traction lifts as four rival types, each with its own price. They answer different questions. The drive is what lifts the car. The placement is how the lift passes between floors, and it decides the building work.

In our data the two questions line up neatly. All 16 through-floor lifts are rope, drum or hydraulic, and every lift that serves three floors or more is screw-driven or vacuum. So the first real choice is the number of floors, and the drive follows from it.

A through-floor lift (rope, drum or hydraulic)

The car runs on its own rails through a hole cut in the ceiling. There is no shaft and no enclosure on either floor. Stiltz, Lifton and Stannah do not publish the size of the hole; Terry’s Affinity needs 970 × 750 mm and the Savaria Luma 1,186 × 956 mm.

A shaft or platform lift (screw and nut)

The lift arrives with its own enclosure, which stands on every floor it serves, so it takes that floor area permanently. In return it can serve up to six floors, run to a basement, and carry up to 630 kg. It usually needs a shallow recess of 37 to 100 mm, or a ramp.

A vacuum lift

A clear tube passes through a round hole in each floor and stays in place on every level. It needs no pit, but its head unit needs the most height upstairs of any type in our data. The smallest, the PVE30, is a 750 mm tube for one person.

For every lift’s footprint, hole size and ceiling height, see how much space a home lift needs.

Why the cost guides get the order wrong

The UK’s cost guides price home lifts by drive. When we set those ranges beside the prices sellers publish for real lifts, two of the four are upside down.

DriveCost guide saysLowest prices sellers publish
Rope or drum (traction)£28,000 to £33,000 (Checkatrade, “traction”)£13,000 ex VAT to £19,995 across 10 lifts
Hydraulic£23,000 to £28,000 (Checkatrade)£13,000 ex VAT, the only figure, shared with the Stiltz Duo
Screw and nut£25,000 to £50,000 (Morgan Ellis, “shaft-based”)£18,000 to £27,000 from Cibes and Aritco
VacuumFrom about £28,000 (Checkatrade)£29,500 (Morgan Ellis, PVE)

Checkatrade’s guide was last updated May 2024; Home Lift UK’s was modified 11 March 2026. Seller prices re-read 29 September 2026. VAT basis differs by seller and is shown in the tables above.

  1. “Traction” covers two different products. Checkatrade and Home Lift UK price a traction home lift from £28,000. The sellers that use the word for their own lifts are far cheaper: Morgan Ellis installs Stiltz lifts, which it calls traction, from £14,800, and Companion, whose brochure names a traction drive, prices its range at £14,000 to £19,000 ex VAT. Checkatrade also lists a separate “non-hydraulic” lift from £15,000 without saying what drives it. If a quote says traction, ask whether it means a rope lift on its own rails or a lift in a built shaft.
  2. Nobody publishes a price for a hydraulic lift alone. Terry and Wessex, the two makers of hydraulic home lifts in our data, publish no price for any model. The only figure is a 1st Choice Home Lifts line giving £13,000 ex VAT for “the Stiltz Duo model range” and the Wessex VM together, far below the £23,000 to £45,000 the guides quote.
  3. Vacuum is the one type where guides and sellers agree. Checkatrade says from about £28,000; Morgan Ellis, which sells PVE lifts in the UK, says from £29,500.

All 29 lifts by type

Filter by drive to see each group. Each lift links to its maker’s page, and each price to the page that publishes it.

Show:
LiftDriveFloorsTravelLoadSpeedPowerWheelchairLowest published price
Stiltz Duo+Specs: maker’s own siteRope / drum24.5 m170 kg0.15 m/s13 A socketNoFrom £17,000 ex VAT (Stiltz, all models)price source
Stiltz Trio+Specs: maker’s own siteRope / drum26 m (4.5 m standard)250 kg0.15 m/s13 A socketYesFrom £17,000 ex VAT (Stiltz, all models)price source
Lifton DUOSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not stated170 kgNot stated13 A socketNot statedFrom £18,000 plus VAT (Lifton, range)price source
Lifton TRIOSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not statedNot statedNot stated13 A socketYesFrom £18,000 plus VAT (Lifton, range)price source
Stannah (Uplifts) S2Specs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not stated250 kgNot stated13 A socket or fused spurNo£17,995 installed (Uplifts)price source
Stannah (Uplifts) S3Specs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not stated250 kgNot stated13 A socket or fused spurYes£19,500 installed (Uplifts)price source
Savaria LumaSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum24.2 m (other Savaria pages give 4.14 or 3.0 m)180 kg0.07 to 0.08 m/s (two figures published)Battery, charged from the mainsNo£14,000 to £19,000 ex VAT (Companion, whole range)price source
Companion CygnusSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not stated255 kgNot statedNot statedYes£14,000 to £19,000 ex VAT (Companion, whole range)price source
Companion AuroraSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not stated255 kgNot statedNot statedYes£14,000 to £19,000 ex VAT (Companion, whole range)price source
Companion StratusSpecs: maker’s own siteRope / drum2Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes£14,000 to £19,000 ex VAT (Companion, whole range)price source
Terry HarmonySpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic23.6 m250 to 280 kg0.06 m/sDedicated 240 V supplyYesNot publishedpage checked
Terry Harmony FESpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic23.6 m325 kg0.06 m/sDedicated 240 V supplyYesNot publishedpage checked
Terry LifestyleSpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic23.6 m250 kg0.15 m/s (every other Terry lift is 0.06)Dedicated 240 V supplyNot statedNot publishedpage checked
Terry AffinitySpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic23.6 m250 kg0.06 m/sDedicated 13 A fused spurNoNot publishedpage checked
Wessex VMSpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic2 (mid-floor stop optional)3.0 or 3.5 m250 kg0.06 m/sHard-wired, 20 A double-pole switchYes (VM31, 36, 38)Not published by Wessex. A dealer gives from £13,000 ex VAT for the VM and the Stiltz Duo togetherpage checked
Wessex VESpecs: maker’s own siteHydraulic23.0 or 3.5 m250 kg (300 kg option)0.06 m/sHard-wired, RCD protectedYesNot publishedpage checked
Aritco HomeLift CompactSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m250 kg0.15 m/s230 V single phaseNot statedAbout £22,000, its smallest two-floor lift (Aritco, VAT not stated)price source
Aritco HomeLiftSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m250 to 400 kg0.15 m/s230 V single or 400 V three phaseNot statedNo pound price (375,000 SEK in Aritco price guide)page checked
Aritco HomeLift AccessSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 613 m250 to 500 kg0.15 m/s230 V single or 400 V three phaseYesNot published in poundspage checked
Cibes A4000Specs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m300 kg0.15 m/s230 V 16 ANot statedFrom £18,000 (Cibes, VAT not stated)price source
Cibes AirSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m300 to 500 kg0.15 m/s230 V 16 ADepends on sizeFrom £19,000 ex VAT (Cibes)price source
Cibes A5000Specs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m400 to 500 kg0.15 m/s230 V 16 AYesNot publishedpage checked
Cibes Cloud PlusSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 620 m300 to 500 kg0.15 m/s16 A single or three phaseNot statedNot publishedpage checked
Cibes C1 PureSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m300 to 630 kg0.15 m/sThree phase 16 A, or 32 A single phaseNot statedFrom £27,000 (Cibes, VAT not stated)price source
SWIFT ProSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m250 to 400 kg0.15 m/s230 V single phase 6 ANot statedNot publishedpage checked
SWIFT LiteSpecs: maker’s own siteScrew and nut2 to 615 m250 to 400 kg0.15 m/s230 V single phase 6 ANot statedNot publishedpage checked
PVE PVE30Specs: maker’s own siteVacuum2 to 515 m159 kg (1 person)0.20 m/s30 A, 220 V single phaseNoFrom £29,500 (Morgan Ellis, dealer, VAT not stated)price source
PVE PVE37Specs: maker’s own siteVacuum2 to 515 m204 kg (2 people)0.20 m/s30 A, 220 V single phaseNoFrom £29,500 (Morgan Ellis, dealer, VAT not stated)price source
PVE PVE52Specs: maker’s own siteVacuum2 to 515 m238 kg (3 people)0.18 m/s40 A, 220 V single phaseYes, but PVE says not all wheelchairs fitFrom £29,500 (Morgan Ellis, dealer, VAT not stated)price source

Where a maker publishes one price for a whole range, every model in that range shows it. Stannah’s Uplifts FAQ gives £18,995 and £19,995 for the same two lifts; the price tracker logs both. Download this table as a CSV.

Know which type you need? Get quotes for that type

Tell us how many floors, who will use the lift and roughly where it would go. We pass your details to installers who fit that kind of lift, so the quotes you get back compare like with like. It’s free and there’s no obligation.

Get free quotes

Choose a type in five questions

  1. How many floors? Two floors opens all four types. Three or more leaves screw-driven shaft lifts and vacuum lifts.
  2. Will it carry a wheelchair? Six of the ten rope and drum lifts and four of the six hydraulic lifts say yes. Among the shaft lifts, Aritco’s HomeLift Access and the Cibes A5000 say yes and the Cibes Air depends on size. Only one vacuum lift, the PVE52, is sold for wheelchairs, and PVE says not every chair fits.
  3. How tall is the upstairs ceiling? Measure from floor to ceiling where the lift would arrive. Below 2,470 mm rules out vacuum. Stiltz asks for 2,370 mm and offers a cab 150 mm shorter. Shaft lifts start at 2,225 mm on the top floor.
  4. What can your electrics take? Only Stiltz, Lifton and Stannah Uplifts say their lifts plug into a 13 A socket. Hydraulic lifts need a dedicated supply, the Cibes C1 Pure needs three phase or 32 A, and PVE lists a 30 to 40 A circuit.
  5. How long will each trip take? Over a 3 m floor-to-floor height, a hydraulic lift at 0.06 m/s takes about 50 seconds. A Stiltz or a screw-driven shaft lift at 0.15 m/s takes 20.

Then set a budget with the cost calculator, and check how VAT applies, because the prices above mix ex VAT, plus VAT and unstated figures. The home lift finder filters the models against your answers.

Questions buyers ask about home lift types

These answers use the same published figures as the tables.

Which type of home lift is cheapest in the UK?

A rope or drum through-floor lift. The lowest published prices are £13,000 ex VAT from 1st Choice Home Lifts for the Stiltz Duo (a figure it shares with the hydraulic Wessex VM) and £14,000 including VAT from My Mobility UK for the Stiltz Duo+. Stiltz itself says from £17,000 ex VAT. The cheapest screw-driven shaft lift with a published price is the Cibes A4000 at £18,000, and the only published vacuum lift price is £29,500.

Is a traction home lift better than a hydraulic one?

It depends on the load and the power supply. In our data the rope and drum lifts from Stiltz and Savaria run at 0.07 to 0.15 m/s and six of the ten plug into a 13 A socket. Five of the six hydraulic lifts run at 0.06 m/s, so a 3 m climb takes about 50 seconds against 20 for a Stiltz, and all six need a dedicated supply. The hydraulic lifts carry 250 to 325 kg, against 170 to 255 kg for the rope and drum lifts.

Can a through-floor home lift serve three floors?

Not on published specifications. All 16 through-floor lifts we checked, rope or hydraulic, serve two floors. Every lift in our data that serves three floors or more is a screw-driven shaft lift from Aritco, Cibes or SWIFT (2 to 6 floors) or a PVE vacuum lift (2 to 5 stops).

Does a vacuum lift need a hole in the floor?

Yes. The tube passes through a round opening in each floor: PVE gives about 813 mm across for the PVE30 and about 1,389 mm for the PVE52. It needs no pit, but it needs the tallest upstairs ceiling of any type: 2,700 mm, or 2,470 mm with the split head unit.

Which home lifts need a pit?

Only the screw-driven shaft and platform lifts, and only a shallow one: Aritco asks for 37 or 50 mm, Cibes and SWIFT 50 mm, and the Cibes C1 Pure cabin lift 100 mm. Most can stand on the floor with a ramp instead. Through-floor and vacuum lifts need no pit.

How we built this comparison. The specifications come from our spec database of UK home lifts, read from each maker’s own website, brochures and datasheets on 17 August 2026, with ceiling, hole and pit figures from our 28 September 2026 space capture and the PVE vacuum lifts added on the same date. Prices come from our price tracker of published UK prices, captured on 20 August 2026. On 29 September 2026 we re-read the prices this page depends on: Stiltz, Uplifts, My Mobility UK, 1st Choice Home Lifts, Morgan Ellis, Checkatrade and Home Lift UK.

How we grouped them. Each lift sits under the drive its maker names. Companion’s product pages name no drive for the Cygnus, Aurora and Stratus; its brochure describes a soft start and stop traction drive, and they are grouped on that basis. Stiltz’s Duo+ Thru-Car is a variant of the Duo+ and is counted once.

What the figures are. Prices are the lowest figure each seller publishes, as written. They are starting prices, a survey quote can differ, and the VAT basis varies. PVE publishes speeds and power ratings on its international site; its UK dealer gives 0.15 m/s for the PVE30 Eco and 230 V single phase.

Independence. UK Homelifts is an independent guide. We are not paid by any maker in this comparison to include or rank its lifts. If you ask for quotes through us, we pass your details to installers.

Sources

Compiled by the UK Homelifts research team. Prices checked 29 September 2026. We recheck them with the monthly price tracker, and makers change specifications, so confirm them with your installer.

UK Homelifts » Home Lift Blog » Which Type of Home Lift? Traction, Hydraulic, Screw and Vacuum Compared

Other home lift information

Free tools & guides:Home Lift Cost CalculatorGrants & Funding CheckerStairlift vs Home Lift
Get free quotes